Street Art in Miami: Wynwood Walls

The best thing about flight to North America: I finally manage to get up early due to the jetlag. And I even get to see the sunrise for once. With a hotel next to the beach in South Beach: even better. But what isn’t beautiful in Miami? Beautiful people, beautiful beaches, beautiful light – beauty was born in Miami. And on top, Miami is full of art – like at the Wynwood Walls.

Wynwood Walls: The famous walls of Miami

You will find the Wynwood Walls a bit off the bustling beaches of Miami in – surprise! – Wynwood. Actually, the Wynwood Walls are not only a few colored walls, they are a open air museum with shops, a café and an art gallery, where you can buy your favourite pieces of art if you have some money left. Entrance is free, but if you really want to enjoy the art and take some nice photos, I recommend to come early before hordes of tourists arrive.

Even if you are much into art – the Wynwood Walls are like a playground for grown-ups. Everything is colorful! You may touch everything and even climb onto some of the sculptures. And the bright Florida sun makes the colorful walls even more impressive – impossible to leave without a good mood!

This is the entrance to the art gallery, where you can buy several pieces of the artists who designed the walls:

The whole district of Wynwood is the art centre of Miami. You will find a lot of galleries, art spaces and studios here – and a whole lot of street art. Just wander around the streets and start discovering on your own!

Where to find the hottest street art in Wynwood and Miami

In some shops you will find maps with the best street art spots, but as it changes so quickly and almost every week new pieces of art are popping up, I recommend to just walk around the streets. I’ve been so impressed by all those colors. ideas and inspiration, I could have spend the whole day there!

By the way, near the Wynwood Walls you will find this famous mural by Brazilian artist Kobra:

And new street art in Wynwood is coming up every day:

Wynwood Walls
2214 NW 1st Place
Miami, FL 33127

Opening times:
Mon-Thu 10:30h-23:30h
Fri-Sat 10:30h-0:00h
Sun 10:30h-20h
2.Sat of the month: Wynwood Artwalk

http://www.thewynwoodwalls.com

Pin this article on Pinterest:

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Comment

There is no comment on this post. Be the first one.

Leave a comment

wynwood walls miami

Wynwood Walls in Miami: Hippe Street Art im Wynwood Art District

Wynwood und seine Wynwood Walls in Miami standen ja schon lange auf meiner Wunschliste. Und das Positive an Nordamerika-Flügen ist, dass ich es endlich mal schaffe, richtig früh aufzustehen. Sogar den Sonnenaufgang kann ich komplett beobachten, der bei einem Hotel direkt am Strand in Miami South Beach nochmal um Längen wirkungsvoller ist als sonstwo. Aber was ist in Miami eigentlich nicht schön? Schöne Menschen, schöne Strände, schönes Licht – alles schön. Und dann ist Miami noch voller Kunst und Street Art! So wie bei den Wynwood Walls.

Wynwood Walls: Der Street-Art-Hotspot in Wynwood, Miami

Die Wynwood Walls findet man ein bisschen abgelegen vom Strandklimbim in Miami Beach im Stadtteil – Überraschung! – Wynwood. Und eigentlich sind es nicht nur ein paar bemalte bunte Wände, sondern ein in sich geschlossenes Open-Air-Museum mit angeschlossener Galerie, Café und Shop. Der Eintritt ist übrigens frei! Früh kommen lohnt sich, bevor die Touristenhorden einfallen – besonders für denjenigen, der gerne ein Foto vor einer der Wände ohne hundert andere Statisten mit auf dem Bild hätte.

Auch wer sich nicht so für Kunst interessiert… Die Wynwood Walls sind wie ein großer Spielplatz für Erwachsene. Alles bunt, groß, zum Anfassen. Im Park selbst kann man die Wände berühren, bestaunen, und einige Skulpturen laden sogar zum beklettern ein. Und die Bilder sind allesamt so ausdrucksstark und farbenfroh, besonders in der strahlend-hellen Florida-Sonne, dass mein Jetlag auf der Stelle verschwindet. Die Wynwood Walls machen einfach gute Laune.

Wynwood Walls Street Art Mural Turban

Wer noch das nötige Kleingeld in der Tasche hat, kann sich ein Stück Wynwood Walls mit einem der Bilder aus der park-eigenen Galerie mitnehmen.

Wynwood Walls Miami bunter Eingang Galerie
Street Art zum Mitnehmen: In der großen Galerie der Wynwood Walls kann man seine Lieblingsbilder gleich einkaufen.

wynwood

Überhaupt ist Wynwood DAS Kunstzentrum Miamis. Viele Galerien sind in der Nähe, und in den weitläufigen Strassen dieses ehemaligen Gewerbegebiets findet man immer wieder tolle Street-Art-Werke.

Wynwood Walls: Mitten im Wynwood Art District in Miami

In einschlägigen Shops findet man immer wieder Karten mit den besten Street-Art-Spots und schönsten Werken, aber da sich das laufend ändert und immer neue, spannende Sachen dazukommen, läuft man einfach am besten los und hält die Augen offen. Ich kam jedenfalls aus dem Staunen nicht heraus; so viel tolles an Farben, Ideen, Inspiration – für Wynwood sollte man echt einen ganzen Tag einplanen. Ganz um die Ecke findet ihr dieses mittlerweile ziemlich bekannte Mural vom brasilianischen Künstler Kobra… und täglich kommt Neues dazu!

wynwoodwynwood

Adresse und Öffnungszeiten

Wynwood Walls
2214 NW 1st Place
Miami, FL 33127

Mo-Do 10:30h-23:30h
Fr-Sa 10:30h-0:00h
So 10:30h-20h
2.Sa im Monat: Wynwood Artwalk

http://www.thewynwoodwalls.com

coolste murals miamischoenste murals miami

Miami Wynwood Walls
MerkenMerken
MerkenMerken
MerkenMerken

Read in de en

Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed