Sant Elm: The insider spot in Mallorca's Southeast!

Sant Elm: Secret spot in the south east of Mallorca

“Do you know a quiet place to stay on Mallorca to relax, with a small beach, good food and just beautiful?“ This is a question people often ask me when they are planning a trip to Mallorca. Quite often I reply with a question: Have you ever been to Sant Elm? In this post, I’ll tell you why the small town at the westernmost tip of Mallorca is definitely worth a visit.

Looking for even more inspiration for your favorite island? ➜ Click here for all Mallorca articles!

Tip: Sant Elm is a really charming village, but accommodations are rare! If you want to spend several days here: ➜ Book your accommodation well in advance!*

Sant Elm: At the westernmost tip of Mallorca

As the winding road meanders down through dense pine forests, it becomes more and more narrow. I wonder if I will ever reach anything here. From Palma, I’m driving in the direction of Andratx, and somehow this part of Mallorca is quite peculiar anyway.

Bay of Sant Elm Mallorca

Here, in this particularly sunny corner of Mallorca, blessed with the most beautiful bays, you will find one realtor’s dream after another: Light-flooded villas line the slopes around Port d’Andratx and in hardly any other region of the island the celebrity density is higher. And therefore you would hardly suspect that this special gem is still to be found right after Andratx: Sant Elm is like a small, hidden oasis!

Sant Elm Mallorca sea view
Turquoise waters, endless peace and quiet: Sant Elm in Mallorca

Relaxation & vacation atmosphere in Sant Elm

Sant Elm is a quaint little village. A bit abandoned by locals, it is inhabited mainly by tourists and vacation home owners. A real infrastructure as in other places with fully equipped supermarkets, stores for daily needs, schools, kindergartens is almost non-existent here. What remains is a quiet, manageable place with everything you need in a 1 or 2 weeks stay and a relaxed atmosphere that immediately brings you into summer vacation mood.

Souvenir Shopping Sant Elm
Baskets and basket bags in Mallorca
 Carrer Cala en Basset in Sant Elm Mallorca
Carrer Cala en Basset is the main shopping street of Sant Elm

The beach of Sant Elm is located directly in the center of the village, the distances are short. Take a small snack in one of the bars at lunchtime, then head back to the beach: Not a problem in Sant Elm. The water in the bay is clear and on sunny days it’s so blue that it almost hurts your eyes! A paradise for all beach lovers!

Platja de Sant Elm Mallorca
Beach paradise: The idyllic bay of Sant Elm
Platja de Sant Elm Andratx
Bay with boat in Sant Elm

Hiking through La Trapa

Sant Elm is bordered by the nature reserve La Trapa, with a great hiking trail along the coast. From the monastery ruins of the same name La Trapa you’ll also have a breathtaking view over the island of Sa Dragonera.

View from La Trapa to Sa Dragonera

A detour to the Torre de Cala en Basset is also worthwhile. (Currently, hiking trails and access roads are being repaired, better inform yourself again on site about the current situation, whether everything is accessible, as of May 2021)

Sa Dragonera lighthouse Mallorca

Sa Dragonera

The whole island of Sa Dragonera is a protected nature reserve, like Cabrera. You can visit and explore the island by yourself along designated hiking trails. The Visitor Center provides information about the island’s special flora and fauna. For example, there are lots of lizards here, hence the name Dragonera, or a large population of hawks).

There are regular boat tours to Sa Dragonera from Sant Elm and Andratx. On site, there are no restaurants and you are also required to take any trash back with you.

Book your boat tour to Sa Dragonera*

Sa Dragonera sunset
From Sant Elm to the nature reserve on the island of Sa Dragonera

Eating & Drinking in Sant Elm

There are not a lot of culinary options in Sant Elm, but they are some quite nice locations. If I were spending several days here, I would most likely be a regular guest at Forn Sa Palomera and try everything from freshly baked crossaints and pastries every morning. An absolute recommendation! (And not just for breakfast either, of course!).

Forn Sa Palomera on Instagram

Tip: Forn Sa Palomera

Fish and seafood lovers will be delighted with Es Raor: Mediterranean cuisine in such an impressive scenery – what more could you ask for?

Website Es Raor

Dining with sea view in Sant Elm

Accommodation in Sant Elm

Due to the size of the village, the choice of accommodation is limited in Sant Elm. Even if you’re like me and don’t usually go for plain vacation hotels – maybe you’ll make an exception here.

The Universal Hotel Aquamarin* and its sister hotel Don Camilo* may not win the next design award for the most stylish interior, but you’ll get solid service and arguably the best panoramic views in Sant Elm at the only two larger hotels in the area. And you can enjoy Sant Elm’s biggest asset here: endless peace and quiet.

Find all deals in Sant Elm here *

Map with all the places in and around Sant Elm.

Day trip to Sant Elm

Is spending the whole vacation in Sant Elm too quiet for you? No problem, I always recommend Sant Elm as a nice day trip, especially if you want to see a little bit, but you don’t really feel like meeting the crowds.

Rental car

The best way to reach Sant Elm is by rental car. From Palma the journey takes about 35-40 minutes.

Book a rental car in Mallorca*

Public transportation

With public transport, the journey to Sant Elm is somewhat more difficult due to its remote location. The line 121 connects Sant Elm with the nearby towns of Port d’Andratx and Andratx, from there there is a bus connection with the line 101 to the Estació Intermodal at Plaça Espanya in Palma. The trip takes an hour and a half in total. ➜ Timetables and more info can be found on the page of tib (Transports de les Illes Balears).

From Sant Elm onwards

Starting in Sant Elm is the distance hiking trail GR221, which passes through the entire Tramuntana mountains. A perfect starting point for a longer hike!

The GR 221 hiking route begins in Sant Elm

If you are traveling by rental car and do not want to hike much, then you can also include Sant Elm in a small road trip and explore the same day Port d’Andratx, for example. A small trip along the southwest coast through the towns of Paguera, Santa Ponsa or El Toro with the stylish new marina Port Adriano are also an option.

But if you want a total contrast after so much peace and quiet, you can also end the day nearby in Magaluf, the epicenter of the british party crowd – in Mallorca, everything is possible!

Here you will find even more inspiration for a stay on my favorite island:

Read this article in the following languages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend

Sant Elm: Geheimtipp für Mallorcas Südwesten

Sant Elm: Geheimtipp für Mallorcas Südwesten (+Karte)

„Kennst du einen ruhigen Ort auf Mallorca, zum Entspannen, mit ein bisschen Strand, gutem Essen und einfach schön halt?“ So oder ähnlich werde ich oft nach Tipps für Mallorca gefragt – und ziemlich oft lautet meine Gegenfrage: Warst du eigentlich schon mal in Sant Elm? Warum der kleine Ort am westlichsten Zipfel Mallorcas eine Reise wert ist, verrate ich dir in diesem Beitrag.

Suchst du nach noch mehr Inspiration für die Lieblingsinsel?
Klicke hier für alle Mallorca Tipps!

Tipp: Sant Elm ist wirklich ein ganz bezaubernder Ferienort, aber Unterkünfte sind rar! Wenn du hier mehrere Tage verbringen möchtest: ➜ Buche deine Unterkunft rechtzeitig im voraus!*

Sant Elm: Am westlichsten Ende Mallorcas

Immer enger schlängelt sich die kurvige Landstraße hinunter durch dichte Pinienwälder. Ob hier überhaupt noch etwas kommt? Mit dem Auto fahre ich von Palma Richtung Andratx und irgendwie ist dieser Teil Mallorcas ohnehin kurios.

Bucht von Sant Elm Mallorca

Hier, in dieser besonders sonnenbegünstigten und mit den schönsten Buchten gesegneten Ecke Mallorcas findet man einen Maklertraum nach dem anderen: Lichtdurchflutete Villen säumen die Hänge rund um Port d’Andratx und in kaum einer anderen Region der Insel ist die Promidichte höher. Und so vermutet man kaum, dass hinter Andratx noch dieses besondere Kleinod zu finden ist: Sant Elm ist wie eine kleine, versteckte Oase!

Sant Elm Mallorca Meerblick
Türkisblaues Wasser und Ruhe ohne Ende: Sant Elm auf Mallorca

Ruhe & Ferienflair in Sant Elm

Sant Elm ist ein kurioses kleines Dorf. Von Einheimischen ein bisschen verlassen, wird es hauptsächlich von Touristen und Ferienwohnungsbesitzern bewohnt. Eine richtige Infrastruktur wie in anderen Orten mit kompletten ausgestattet Supermärkten, Geschäften des täglichen Bedarfs, Schulen, Kindergärten ist hier so gut wie nicht existent. Übrig bleibt ein ruhiger, überschaubarer Ort mit allem, was man so in 1-2 Wochen Aufenthalt braucht und eine entspannte Atmosphäre, die dich sofort in Ferienstimmung versetzt.

Souvenir Shopping Sant Elm
Körbe und Korbtaschen auf Mallorca
Fußgängerzone Carrer Cala en Basset in Sant Elm Mallorca
Die Carrer Cala en Basset ist die Hauptgeschäftsstraße von Sant Elm

Der Strand von Sant Elm befindet sich direkt in der Ortsmitte, die Wege sind kurz. Zwischendurch mittags einen kleinen Snack in einer der Bars, dann wieder zurück an den Strand: In Sant Elm kein Problem. Das Wasser in der Bucht ist klar und an sonnigen Tagen so türkisblau, dass es fast in den Augen weh tut! Ein Traum für alle Strandfans!

Platja de Sant Elm Mallorca
Strandparadies: Die idyllische Bucht von Sant Elm
Platja de Sant Elm Andratx
Bucht mit Boot in Sant Elm

Wanderung durch La Trapa

An Sant Elm grenzt das Naturschutzgebiet La Trapa, mit einem tollen Wanderweg entlang der Küste. Von der gleichnamigen Klosterruine La Trapa hat man außerdem eine atemberaubende Aussicht auf die vorgelagerte Insel Sa Dragonera.

Blick von La Trapa auf Sa Dragonera

Lohnenswert ist auch ein Abstecher zum Torre de Cala en Basset. (Derzeit werden Wanderwege und Zufahrten ausgebessert, informiert euch besser nochmal vor Ort über die aktuelle Situation, ob alles zugänglich ist. – Stand Mai 2021)

Sa Dragonera Leuchtturm Mallorca

Sa Dragonera

Sa Dragonera ist wie Cabrera eine vorgelagerte Insel, die komplett zum Naturschutzgebiet erklärt wurde. Die Insel lässt sich entlang festgelegter Wanderwege selbst erkunden. Im Besucherzentrum gibt es Informationen über die besondere Flora und Fauna der Insel. (Z.B. gibt es hier jede Menge Eidechsen, daher auch der Name – oder eine große Falkenpopulation.)

Von Sant Elm und Andratx gibt es regelmäßige Bootstouren dorthin. Vor Ort gibt es keine Gastronomie und Müll muss ebenfalls wieder mitgenommen werden.

Bootstouren nach Sa Dragonera*

Sa Dragonera Sonnenuntergang
Von Sant Elm aus zu erreichen: Das Naturschutzgebiet auf der Insel Sa Dragonera

Essen & Trinken in Sant Elm

Das gastronomische Angebot in Sant Elm ist überschaubar, aber durchaus positiv. Wenn ich hier mehrere Tage verbringen würde, wäre ich wahrscheinlich sofort Frühstücksstammgast bei Forn Sa Palomera und würde mich jeden Morgen durch die Auslagen aus frisch gebackenen Crossaints und Backwaren probieren. Absolute Empfehlung! (Und natürlich auch nicht nur zum Frühstück!)

Forn Sa Palomera auf Instagram

Tipp: Forn Sa Palomera

Liebhaber von frischem Fisch und Meeresfrüchte werden sich über das Es Raor freuen: Mediterrane Küche vor so einem beeindruckenden Panorama – was will man mehr?

Webseite Es Raor

Essen mit Meerblick in Sant Elm

Übernachten in Sant Elm

Auf Grund der Größe des Ortes ist die Auswahl an Unterkünften begrenzt. Auch wenn du wie ich normalerweise nicht auf schnöde Urlaubshotels stehst – vielleicht machst du hier eine Ausnahme.

Das Universal Hotel Aquamarin* und das Schwesterhotel Don Camilo* gewinnen vielleicht nicht unbedingt den nächsten Designpreis für das stylischste Interieur, dafür gibt’s in den beiden einzigen größeren Hotels am Platz soliden Service und den wohl besten Panoramablick in Sant Elm. Und du kannst hier den größten Vorteil Sant Elms genießen: Ruhe ohne Ende.

Finde hier alle Angebote (Hotels & Ferienwohnungen) in Sant Elm*

Karte mit allen Orten in und um Sant Elm

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Tagesausflug nach Sant Elm

Den ganzen Urlaub in Sant Elm verbringen ist dir zu ruhig? Kein Problem, ich empfehle Sant Elm auch immer wieder als schönen Tagesausflug, gerade dann, wenn man ein bisschen was sehen möchte, aber auf Menschenmassen auch nicht so wirklich Lust hat.

Mietwagen

Am besten erreicht man Sant Elm mit dem Mietwagen. Von Palma aus dauert die Fahrt ca. 35-40 Minuten.

Mietwagen für Mallorca buchen*

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln ist die Anreise nach Sant Elm durch die entlegene Lage etwas schwieriger. Die Linie 121 verbindet Sant Elm mit den nahegelegenen Orten Port d’Andratx und Andratx, von dort gibt es mit der Linie 101 eine Busverbindung bis zur Estació Intermodal an der Plaça Espanya in Palma. Die Fahrt dauert insgesamt anderthalb Stunden.

➜ Fahrpläne und mehr Info gibt’s auf der Seite der tib (Transports de les Illes Balears)

Von Sant Elm aus weiter

In Sant Elm beginnt der Fernwanderweg GR221, der durch die komplette Tramuntana führt. Ein perfekte Startpunkt für eine längere Wanderung also!

In Sant Elm beginnt die Wanderroute GR 221

Bist du mit dem Mietwagen unterwegs und möchtest nicht groß wandern, dann kannst du Sant Elm auch in einen kleinen Roadtrip einbauen und am gleichen Tag zum Beispiel noch Port d’Andratx erkunden. Auch eine kleine Fahrt entlang der Südwestküste mit den Orten Paguera, Santa Ponsa oder El Toro mit dem stylischen neuen Yachthafen Port Adriano bietet sich an.

Willst du nach so viel Ruhe aber totales Kontrastprogramm, kannst du den Tag auch ganz in der Nähe in Magaluf, dem Epizentrum feierwütiger Briten, ausklingen lassen – auf Mallorca ist eben alles möglich!

Hier findest du noch mehr Inspirationen für einen Aufenthalt auf meiner Lieblingsinsel:

Lese diesen Artikel in folgenden Sprachen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Send this to a friend