Things to Do in Positano & Tips for the Amalfi Coast

Aktualisiert am: 12/03/2024

Positano is Instagram’s favorite. Not that the rest of the Amalfi Coast, with places like Amalfi and Ravello, is just as worth seeing: Positano is in a different league. There aren’t really many sights in Positano. The special atmosphere of the most famous town on the Amalfi Coast is enough of an attraction in itself. Is it really worth staying there? And what if you just want to have a good time in Positano instead of chasing after the next hotspots? See for yourself.

Tip: Book cheap accommodation for Positano in advance*

Positano sights houses

Positano – the highlight of the Amalfi Coast

Welcome to my travel blog!

Hey, I’m Tatiana, a German-Brazilian living in Berlin & the author behind The Happy Jetlagger. I’ve been writing about my travels since 2014. In addition to my job as a flight attendant, this blog is my passion project!

Positano is the small Italian coastal village with the pretty little houses that frame a bay on steep slopes. Positano is probably the most famous town on the Amalfi Coast and the highlight of any trip through the region. The journey is adventurous: you drive towards Positano on winding, narrow roads. The town center itself and the slope down to the bay are best reached on foot. And Positano is definitely one of the places in the world that has become even more popular thanks to Instagram.

Find out here which other places you should visit on the Amalfi Coast:
The most beautiful places on the Amalfi Coast (route + tips)

However, I thought Positano looked nice in pictures, but it wasn’t the place that was at the top of my wish list for our road trip along the Amalfi Coast. The Instagram hype was too much for me. But since we’ve been there before, I’ve researched a few nice Instagram hotspots in Positano:

#1 The beach of Positano & Fornillo Beach

Positano has two beaches, both of which are rather disappointing for real beach lovers. The beaches are relatively small. Sun loungers are expensive and the sand is dark brown instead of powdery white. But the real attraction is the scenery around it: the steep slopes with the cute houses frame the beaches. Positano Beach is the beach directly below the town center, Fornillo Beach is a little away from the center and is less crowded.

In the Blu Bar you can enjoy the beach life in the first row with a cocktail, but the same applies here as everywhere else in Positano: don’t look at the prices!

#2 Santa Maria Assunta Church

The Santa Maria Assunta church is part of the panorama of Positano. The dome with its majolica tiles is one of the town’s most striking features. From the stairs down to the large forecourt, you even have a view of the sea.

Positano Santa Maria Assunta
Positano sights Church of Santa Maria Assunta

Advertising / *affiliate links

#3 Viewpoint: Restaurant Il Capitano

From the restaurant Il Capitano you have a perfect view over the bay of Positano. But if you don’t necessarily want to eat here, the view from the path above is at least as beautiful.

Still More dolce vita? You can also find lots of tips on Naples and the Amalfi Coast here
To the Italy blog

Positano sightseeing view restaurant Il Capitano

#4 Lunch tip: Casa E Bottega

We discovered Casa E Bottega by chance, the perfect lunch spot in Positano and: Very instagrammable! At Casa E Bottega, special emphasis is placed on freshness and good quality. There are several options for vegans and vegetarians. The dishes are okay, the portions small, but definitely a good choice for Positano if you don’t fancy the usual tourist traps. And when I saw the dog of the house, I was a fan anyway. Incidentally, Casa E Bottega is the cheaper sister restaurant of Next 2 a little further up the street.

Positano Restaurant Casa e Bottega

#5 The alleyways of Positano

A tip for choosing an outfit for Positano: sneakers are an advantage! Many steps and narrow alleyways lead down to the town center and the beach. High heels are out of place here. The most beautiful Insta-motifs appear in the romantic urban canyons.

Practical tips for Positano

Well, Positano is indeed very picturesque. However, I didn’t become a real fan. Even in the low season in October, day tourists and tour groups squeeze through the narrow streets. After a few days on the Amalfi Coast and places that were also unexpectedly quite crowded, I didn’t like seeing crowds any more. And the prices! Positano is an expensive place, a visit to a restaurant is a small investment, not to mention an overnight stay in a hotel.

Where to stay in Positano

It’s worth booking early, especially in the high season! Positano and the Amalfi Coast are then so overcrowded that the cheapest options are long since fully booked. If you are traveling by rental car, make sure you have good parking facilities at your accommodation. Otherwise it can be expensive and difficult to find a parking space in the narrow and winding streets. Parking spaces are rare!

Tip: Accommodation in Positano is scarce in summer! And don’t shy away from the high prices – it doesn’t get any cheaper, and whoever books first has a clear advantage.

Here you will find good hotels in Positano!

How to get there

You can get to Positano by SITA bus, the public transport on the Amalfi Coast, with some ferry companies that call at the small bay of Positano from several ports nearby or by car/rental car (which is my personal recommendation due to the beautiful route!).

Here you can find cheap rental cars for a road trip along the Amalfi Coast*(just enter the desired location!)

➜ From our own experience: How to organize a road trip along the Amalfi Coast and what you need to bear in mind

Parking in Positano

If you are only going to the city for one day, I recommend going straight to one of the paid parking lots at the entrance to the city. The parking options don’t get any better, you have to walk a lot in Positano anyway (and climb a lot of stairs!) and you save yourself a lot of stress. Also, the main road is a one-way street, so you can’t just turn around and drive back to the parking lot.

Paid parking lots are often privately operated and cost 5 euros/hour during our visit. The vehicles are parked on site by the staff to make use of every last centimeter, so you have to hand in your car keys. I was suspicious at first, but everything went well. However, as always, I had taken out fully comprehensive insurance with no excess for the rental car, so I didn’t have to worry about parking damage.

***

You can find more articles about Naples and the Amalfi Coast here:

Travel Guide Naples
Ravello
Capri in one day
Pompeii: The best tips
The most beautiful places on the Amalfi Coast

positano-sehenswuerdigkeiten-20

Positano: Instagram Traum an der Amalfiküste & Tipps für Hotspots

Übersicht

Positano ist Instagrams Liebling. Nicht, dass der Rest der Amalfiküste mit Orten wie Amalfi und Ravello genauso sehenswert wäre: Positano ist eine andere Liga. Wirklich viele Sehenswürdigkeiten in Positano gibt es nicht. Allein die spezielle Atmosphäre des bekanntesten Ortes der Amalfiküste ist schon Sehenswürdigkeit genug. Ob sich ein Aufenthalt dort wirklich lohnt? Und was ist, wenn man in Positano eigentlich nur eine schöne Zeit haben möchte, anstatt den nächsten Instagram Hotspots nachzujagen? Seht selbst.

Positano Sehenswürdigkeiten Häuser

Positano – das Highlight der Amalfiküste

Positano, das ist das kleine italienische Küstendorf mit den hübschen Häuschen, die an steilen Hängen eine Bucht umrahmen. An der Amalfiküste ist Positano wohl der bekannteste Ort und das Highlights einer jeden Reise durch die Region. Die Anreise ist abenteuerlich: Auf verschlungenen, engen Straßen fährt man auf Positano zu. In den Ortskern selbst und den Hang hinunter zur Bucht geht es am besten zu Fuß. Und Positano gehört definitiv zu den Orten auf der Welt, die durch Instagram nochmal an Popularität gewonnen haben.

Folge mir auf Instagram: @thehappyjetlagger!

Instagram Hotspots in Positano

Positano allerdings fand ich auf Bildern schön, aber es war nicht der Ort, der auf meiner Wunschliste für unseren Roadtrip entlang der Amalfiküste ganz oben stand. Zu heftig war mir der Instagram Hype. Aber da wir schon mal dort waren, habe ich ein paar schöne Instagram Hotspots in Positano recherchiert:

#1 Der Strand von Positano & Fornillo Beach

Positano hat zwei Strände, beide sind für echte Strandliebhaber eher enttäuschend. Die Strände sind relativ klein. Liegestühle sind teuer, und der Sand dunkelbraun statt puderzuckerweiß. Aber die wahre Attraktion ist die Kulisse drumherum: Die steilen Hänge mit den schnuckeligen Häusern umrahmen die Strände. Positano Beach ist der Strand direkt unterhalb des Ortskerns, Fornillo Beach liegt etwas abseits des Zentrums und ist weniger überlaufen.

In der Blu Bar kann man bei einem Cocktail das Strandleben in erster Reihe geniessen, allerdings gilt hier wie überall in Positano: Nicht auf die Preise schauen!

Noch mehr Dolce Vita? In meinem Italien Blog findest du viele Artikel über Neapel und die Amalfiküste!

#2 Santa Maria Assunta Kirche

Die Santa Maria Assunta Kirche gehört zum Panorama von Positano. Die Kuppel mit ihren Majolikafliesen ist einer der markanten Punkte des Ortes. Von der Treppe hinunter zum großen Vorplatz hat man sogar einen Blick auf das Meer.

#3 Aussichtspunkt: Restaurant Il Capitano

Vom Restaurant Il Capitano hat man eine perfekte Aussicht über die Bucht von Positano. Wer allerdings nicht unbedingt hier essen möchte: Vom Weg darüber ist der Ausblick mindestens genauso schön.

#4 Instagram Hotspot in Positano & Lunch Tipp: Casa E Bottega

Per Zufall entdeckten wir die Casa E Bottega, der perfekte Lunch-Spot in Positano und: Very instagrammable! In der Casa E Bottega wird auf Frische und gute Qualität besonderen Wert gelegt. Für Veganer und Vegetarier gibt es einige Optionen. Die Gerichte sind okay, die Portionen klein, aber für Positano definitiv eine gute Wahl, wenn man auf die üblichen Touristenfallen keine Lust hat. Und spätestens beim Anblick des Hund des Hauses war ich sowieso Fan. Das Casa E Bottega ist übrigens das günstigere Schwesterlokal des Next 2 etwas weiter die Straße hoch.

#5 Die Gassen von Positano

Ein Tipp für die Outfitwahl für Positano: Sneaker sind von Vorteil! Über viele Treppen und schmale Gassen geht es hinunter in den Ortskern und zum Strand. Highheels sind da fehl am Platz. Dafür tauchen in den romantischen Häuserschluchten die schönsten Insta-Motive auf.

Praktische Tipps für Positano

Nun: Positano ist tatsächlich sehr pittoresk. Wirklicher Fan wurde ich allerdings nicht. Selbst in der Nebensaison im Oktober quetschen sich Tagestouristen und Reisegruppen durch die engen Gassen. Nach einigen Tagen Amalfiküste und Orten, an denen es unerwarteterweise ebenfalls ziemlich voll war, mochte ich keine Menschenmengen mehr sehen. Und die Preise erst! Positano ist ein teures Pflaster, ein Restaurantbesuch eine kleine Investition, von einer Hotelübernachtung ganz zu schweigen.

Übernachten in Positano

Früh buchen lohnt sich vor allem in der Hochsaison! Positano und die Amalfiküste sind dann so überlaufen, dass die günstigsten Möglichkeiten längst ausgebucht sind. Reist du mit dem Mietwagen an, achte auf gute Parkmöglichkeiten an der Unterkunft. Ansonsten kann es teuer und schwierig werden, in den engen und kurvigen Straßen einen Parkplatz zu finden. Parkplätze sind rar!

Hoteltipp Positano

Tipp: Früh buchen! Im Sommer sind Unterkünfte in Positano knapp!

-> Hier findest du günstige Hotels in Positano*

Anreise

Nach Positano kommst du mit dem SITA Bus, dem öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel an der Amalfiküste, mit einigen Fähranbietern, die die kleine Bucht von Positano von mehreren Häfen in der Nähe aus anfahren oder mit dem Auto/Mietwagen (was auf Grund der schönen Strecke meine persönliche Empfehlung ist!).

Parken in Positano

Fährst du nur für einen Tag in die Stadt, empfehle ich dir, direkt einen der bezahlten Parkplätze am Ortseingang anzusteuern. Die Parkmöglichkeiten werden nicht besser, viel laufen muss man in Positano sowieso (und viele Treppen steigen!) und du sparst dir jede Menge Stress. Außerdem ist die Hauptstraße eine Einbahnstraße, so dass du nicht einfach wenden und zum Parkplatz zurückfahren kannst.

Bezahlte Parkplätze sind oft privat betrieben und haben bei unserem Besuch 5 Euro/Stunde gekostet. Die Fahrzeuge werden von den Mitarbeitern vor Ort geparkt, um jeden kleinsten Zentimeter auszunutzen, daher muss man seine Autoschlüssel abgeben. Ich war erst misstrauisch, aber es ist alles gut gegangen. Allerdings hatte ich auch für den Mietwagen wie immer eine Vollkaskoversicherung ohne Selbstbeteiligung abgeschlossen, da musste ich mir über Parkschäden keine Sorgen machen.

***

Mehr Artikel rund um Neapel und die Amalfiküste findest du hier:

Mein großer Guide für Neapel mit den besten Sehenswürdigkeiten und Locations

Unbedingt probieren: Die original neapolitanische Pizza!

Ein Tag auf Capri

Pompeji: Die besten Tipps

***

Warst du schon einmal in Positano? Wie war dein Eindruck? Schreib mir in die Kommentare!

Tags

Lese Diesen Artikel auf

Podcast hören unterwegs auf Spotify und Apple

Hier schreibt Tatiana.

Ich reise schon mein halbes Leben um die Welt. Beruflich und privat. Auf meinem Reiseblog The Happy Jetlagger teile ich Tipps, die vielleicht auch anderswo zu finden sind, aber nirgends so unterhaltsam. Mehr erfährst du auch auf meiner Über-mich-Seite.
Send this to a friend