Hamburg Food Guide: The Best Restaurants, Bars & Cafés

Aktualisiert am: 14/01/2024

As a vibrant metropolis, Hamburg has a lot going for it in terms of gastronomy, of course! You’ll find a brilliant mix of exotic cuisines, new concepts and endless creativity. The only problem: the supply is simply very, very large! To make your next trip to Hamburg easier, this food guide includes my current favorite restaurants, bars and cafes in Hamburg!

Pasta Autentica by Jill

Just around the corner from Hamburg’s city hall, yet tucked away in a small side street, Pasta Autentica by Jill is the perfect spot for a city lunch between shopping and sightseeing. The store itself is not particularly large (reservations are a good idea!), the kitchen probably not either: The eponymous fresh pasta is namely made in the shop window on what feels like half a square meter in a corner of the guest room!

Production of fresh pasta in restaurant in Hamburg
Welcome to my travel blog!

Hey, I’m Tatiana, a German-Brazilian living in Berlin & the author behind The Happy Jetlagger. I’ve been writing about my travels since 2014. In addition to my job as a flight attendant, this blog is my passion project!

Pasta production at Pasta Autentica by Jill in Hamburg
Pasta doesn’t get any fresher than this: The small pasta corner at Pasta Autentica by Jill

At your leisure, you can watch the cheerful pasta fairies as one ravioli after another is lovingly filled and only a short time later lands on the plates of the guests. This fact alone (and how incredibly neat they are in such a small space) would have earned Pasta Autentica by Jill a spot in my food guide – but it came to pass: my salmon ravioli in pistachio butter was so delicious that I was completely blown away. Absolute recommendation!

Pasta Autentica by Jill, Börsenbrücke 5/7, 20457 Hamburg (city center)

Fresh pasta in restaurant in Hamburg
Among my favorite restaurants in Hamburg far ahead: Pasta Autentica by Jill

Frau Dr Schneider’s Grilled Cheese Wonderland

Bread, cheese and a grill: the most delicious things can be so simple! In the pink Frau Dr Schneider’s Grilled Cheese Wonderland, grilled cheese sandwiches get that little bit extra! My favorite was the Bacon Jam Grilled Cheese – the bacon jam made with their own recipe was so delicious! By the way, bring an appetite, such a sandwich is really a whole meal!

Frau Dr Schneider’s Grilled Cheese Wonderland, Seilerstraße 40, 20359 Hamburg (St.Pauli)

Grilled Cheese Sandwiches in St.Pauli
Grilled Cheese Sandwiches in Perfection on St.Pauli

Helpful information for your trip to Hamburg

To read:
All blog articles about Hamburg
Where to stay in Hamburg
Find the best hotel deals*
Must-Do:
Hamburg harbor tour
Ride bus and train for free & discounts for sightseeing:
Hamburg Card*

Marshall Street Coffee

Admittedly, I’m not a very big fan of French toast: too buttery, too monotonous. I don’t know what possessed me to order a French toast at Marshall Street Coffee that day. Possibly, however, it was also the premonition that it would be really difficult to find something here that didn’t excite me.

French toast with fruit and detox juice in café in Hamburg
Not only delicious, but also perfectly served: French toast at Marshall Street Coffee in Hamburg

In summary: French toast was great, the fresh juice too & great store anyway! Tip: Don’t be put off by queues at the door. It’s worth it!

Marshall Street Coffee, Schopenstehl 30, 20095 Hamburg (city center)

Advertising / *affiliate links

Elbgold

As a port city, Hamburg was the first port of call for exotic goods from overseas centuries ago. So it’s no surprise that good coffee is easy to find: At the roastery in the Schanzenviertel, you can not only taste the in-house coffee, but also take it home with you.

Elbgold, Lagerstraße 34c, 20357 Hamburg (Schanzenviertel)

Coffee roastery in Schanzenviertel in Hamburg
The Elbgold roastery in the Schanzenviertel district

Food Tours in Hamburg

Mutterland

I only stumbled into the motherland by chance, because I had to kill a few hours at Hamburg’s main train station – and it’s not really inviting. Quite the opposite of the Mutterland, a real Hamburg institution.

Sign with opening hours in the restaurant in the Mutterland Stammhaus in Hamburg
Bar at the Mutterland Stammhaus in Hamburg

Actually a delicatessen, here you can find delicacies from local manufactures as well as great gastronomy. On the one hand, there is a take-away area here with seating (good opportunity to work), but also a really good restaurant that is quite busy – definitely try it out! There are also four other locations, including in Eppendorf.

Mutterland Stammhaus, Kirchenallee 19, 20099 Hamburg (St.Georg)

Bowl with muesli and fresh berries at Mutterland
Delicatessen at the Mutterland
Delicatessen shopping at Mutterland

Mimosas Brunch Club

Either way, Wexstraße is a good place to go if you’re looking for a bit of homey atmosphere in downtown Hamburg. Here you’ll find cute stores, small restaurants and such great locations as the recently opened Mimosas Brunch Club.

Mimosas Brunch Club is, as the name suggests, a great idea for an extensive brunch for two or with friends, but also for a small coffee break with delicious waffles. And if you can’t get enough of the fruity mimosas, there’s even a mimosas flat rate!

Tip: Despite new opening very popular, on weekends you should reserve!

Mimosas Brunch Club, Wexstraße 27, 20355 Hamburg (city center)

Waffles with fruit at Mimosas Brunch Club in Hamburg
Mimosas Brunch Club in Wexstrasse

La Casita

With tacos it is such a thing, I think. Eating tacos completely drip and spill free just won’t work for me. Especially not with the tacos from La Casita, because they are so well filled!

Tip: The tacos are the perfect snack when the flea market takes place around the little snack bar on Saturdays, a really good flea market with lots of vintage treasures.

La Casita, Neuer Kamp 30, 20357 Hamburg (Schanzenviertel)

Mexican taco with pulled pork, jalapeños, lettuce, cilantro and lime at La Casita in Hamburg

Blick Bar

If the typical fish sandwiches are too mundane for you, or if you are curious about a completely different variant, then I recommend a visit to the Blick Bar. Not only can you enjoy a beautiful view of Hamburg’s city center, you can also get to the Elbphilharmonie observation deck without waiting – because the Blick Bar is actually the house bar of The Westin Hamburg, whose rooms are located above the concert hall.

Fish brioche as a fish roll in Blick Bar in Hamburg

Be sure to try the signature duo of a glass of champagne and a fish brioche and just take a break from sightseeing. And don’t worry, the Blick Bar is wonderfully unpretentious and relaxed despite all the luxury!

Elphi Spritz at Blick Bar in Hamburg
Also recommended: The signature drink Elphi Spritz

Blick Bar, Platz d. Deutsche Einheit 2, 20457 Hamburg (city center)

If you’re in the mood for some pretty extraordinary accommodation: Book your stay at The Westin Hamburg here*

Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg

Many thanks to Hamburg Tourismus and The Westin Hamburg for their support during the research for this article!

Teile diesen Artikel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Du liebst Reisen?

In meinem Newsletter verrate ich dir Tipps & erzähle Stories von unterwegs aus meinem Job als Flugbegleiterin!

Mit dem Absenden erklärst du dich mit der Speicherung deiner Daten zum Zweck des Newsletterversands einverstanden. Du kannst dich jederzeit wieder vom Newsletter abmelden. Mehr hier.

Hamburg Food Guide: Meine Tipps für Restaurants, Bars & Cafés

Aktualisiert am: 01/04/2024
Aktualisiert am: 01/04/2024

Hamburg als pulsierende Metropole hat gastronomisch gesehen einiges auf dem Kasten, klar! Du findest hier eine fulminante Mischung aus exotischen Küchen, neuen Konzepten und unendlicher Kreativität. Das einzige Problem: Das Angebot ist einfach sehr, sehr groß! Um dir die Auswahl bei deinem nächsten Hamburg-Trip zu erleichtern, stelle ich dir in diesem Food Guide meine derzeit liebsten Restaurants, Bars und Cafés in Hamburg vor!

Pasta Autentica by Jill

Direkt um die Ecke vom Hamburger Rathaus, aber dennoch versteckt in einer kleinen Nebenstraße liegt das Pasta Autentica by Jill und ist der perfekte Spot für ein City-Lunch zwischen Shopping und Sightseeing. Der Laden selbst ist nicht besonders groß (Reservieren ist eine gute Idee!), die Küche wohl auch nicht: Die namensgebende frische Pasta wird nämlich im Schaufenster auf gefühlt einem halben Quadratmeter in einer Ecke des Gastraumes hergestellt!

Produktion von frischer Pasta in Restaurant in Hamburg
Wer hier schreibt

Hey, ich bin Tatiana & die Bloggerin hinter The Happy Jetlagger. Seit 2014 schreibe ich hier ehrlich, leidenschaftlich und authentisch über meine Reisen. Ohne großes Team hinter mir bin ich quasi das Mädchen für alles: Alle Tipps sind eigenhändig von mir recherchiert & empfohlen!

Pasta Produktion bei Pasta Autentica by Jill in Hamburg
Frischer geht Pasta nicht: Die kleine Pastaecke im Pasta Autentica by Jill

Nach Belieben kannst du hier den fröhlichen Pastafeen zuschauen, wie eine Ravioli nach der anderen liebevoll befüllt wird und nur wenig später auf den Tellern der Gäste landet. Allein dieser Umstand (und die Tatsache, wie unglaublich ordentlich die beiden auf so engem Raum arbeiten) hätte dem Pasta Autentica by Jill schon einen Spot in meinem Food Guide verschafft – aber es kam, wie es kommen musste: Meine Lachs-Ravioli in Pistazienbutter waren so lecker, dass ich restlos begeistert war. Absolute Empfehlung!

Pasta Autentica by Jill, Börsenbrücke 5/7, 20457 Hamburg (Innenstadt)

Frische Pasta im Restaurant in Hamburg
Bei meinen Lieblingsrestaurants in Hamburg weit vorne: Pasta Autentica by Jill

Frau Dr Schneider’s Grilled Cheese Wonderland

Brot, Käse und ein Grill: Die leckersten Dinge können so einfach sein! Im pinkfarbenen Frau Dr Schneider’s Grilled Cheese Wonderland bekommen Grilled Cheese Sandwiches aber nochmal das gewisse Extra verpasst! Mein Favorit war das Bacon Jam Grilled Cheese – der Bacon Jam nach eigener Rezeptur war so lecker! Übrigens: Bringt Hunger mit, so ein Sandwich ist wirklich eine ganze Mahlzeit!

Frau Dr Schneider’s Grilled Cheese Wonderland, Seilerstraße 40, 20359 Hamburg (St.Pauli)

Grilled Cheese Sandwiches in St.Pauli
Grilled Cheese Sandwiches in Perfektion auf St.Pauli

Hilfreiches für deinen Trip nach Hamburg

Zum Lesen:
Alle Blogartikel über Hamburg
Übernachten in Hamburg:
Hier findest du die besten Deals*
Must-Do:
Hafenrundfahrt in Hamburg
Kostenlos Bus und Bahn fahren & Rabatte für Sehenswürdigkeiten:
Hamburg Card*

Marshall Street Coffee

Zugegeben, ich bin kein sehr großer Fan von French Toast: zu buttrig, zu monoton. Keine Ahnung, was mich an diesem Tag geritten hat, bei Marshall Street Coffee eben einen French Toast zu ordern. Möglicherweise war es aber auch die Vorahnung, dass es hier wirklich schwierig werden würde, etwas zu finden, was mich nicht begeistert.

French Toast mit Obst und Detox Saft in Café in Hamburg
Nicht nur lecker, sondern auch perfekt angerichtet: French Toast bei Marshall Street Coffee in Hamburg

Zusammengefasst: French Toast war toll, der frische Saft auch & sowieso toller Laden! Tipp: Nicht von Warteschlangen vor der Tür abschrecken lassen. Es lohnt sich!

Marshall Street Coffee, Schopenstehl 30, 20095 Hamburg (Innenstadt)

Werbung / *Affiliatelinks

Elbgold

Als Hafenstadt war Hamburg schon vor Jahrhunderten der erste Anlaufpunkt für exotische Waren aus Übersee. Da ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass guter Kaffee leicht zu finden ist: In der Rösterei im Schanzenviertel kann man nicht nur den hauseigenen Kaffee probieren, sondern auch gleich für zu Hause mitnehmen.

Elbgold, Lagerstraße 34c, 20357 Hamburg (Schanzenviertel)

Kaffee Rösterei im Schanzenviertel in Hamburg
Die Elbgold Rösterei im Schanzenviertel

Mutterland

Ins Mutterland bin ich eigentlich nur durch Zufall gestolpert, weil ich einige Stunden am Hamburger Hauptbahnhof totschlagen musste – und der ist ja nicht wirklich einladend. Ganz im Gegensatz zum Mutterland, einer echten Hamburger Institution.

Schild mit Öffnungszeiten im Restaurant im Mutterland Stammhaus in Hamburg
Bar im Mutterland Stammhaus in Hamburg

Eigentlich ein Feinkostgeschäft, gibt es hier neben Delikatessen aus heimischen Manufakturen auch eine tolle Gastronomie. Zum einen gibt es hier einen Take-Away-Bereich mit Sitzplätzen (gute Gelegenheit zum Arbeiten), aber auch ein wirkliches gutes Restaurant, das ziemlich gut besucht ist – unbedingt ausprobieren! Es gibt außerdem noch vier weitere Standorte, u.a. in Eppendorf.

Mutterland Stammhaus, Kirchenallee 19, 20099 Hamburg (St.Georg)

Bowl mit Müsli und frischen Beeren im Mutterland Stammhaus
Feinkostgeschäft im Mutterland Stammhaus in Hamburg
Delikatessen shoppen im Mutterland Stammhaus

Freie Fahrt & Rabatte für Hamburg

Hamburg Card mit Transport- und Rabattsymbolen.

Mit der Hamburg Card bist du gut gerüstet für deinen Trip: Freie Fahrt mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln!
Dazu gibt’s noch jede Menge Rabatte bei vielen Attraktionen!

Hier kaufen*

Mimosas Brunch Club

Die Wexstraße ist so oder so ein guter Anlaufpunkt, wenn du ein bisschen heimlige Atmosphäre in der Hamburger Innenstadt suchst. Hier findest du süße Shops, kleine Restaurants und so tolle Locations wie dem jüngst eröffneten Mimosas Brunch Club.

Der Mimosas Brunch Club ist, wie der Name schon ahnen lässt, eine gute Idee für ein ausgiebiges Brunch zu zweit oder mit Freunden, aber auch für eine kleine Kaffeepause mit leckeren Waffeln. Und wenn du von den fruchtigen Mimosas nicht genug kriegen kannst, gibt es sogar eine Mimosas-Flatrate!

Tipp: Trotz Neuereröffnung sehr beliebt, am Wochenende solltest du reservieren!

Mimosas Brunch Club, Wexstraße 27, 20355 Hamburg (Innenstadt)

Waffeln mit Obst im Mimosas Brunch Club in Hamburg
Mimosas Brunch Club in der Wexstraße

La Casita

Mit Tacos ist das ja so eine Sache, finde ich. Ganz tropf- und kleckerfrei Tacos zu essen, will mir einfach nicht gelingen. Mit den Tacos von La Casita erst recht nicht, denn die sind so gut und lecker gefüllt, dass ich mich gerne bekleckere.

Tipp: Die Tacos sind der perfekte Snack, wenn hier rund um das kleine Imbisshäuschen samtags die Flohschanze stattfindet, ein richtiger guter Flohmarkt mit vielen Vintageschätzen.

La Casita, Neuer Kamp 30, 20357 Hamburg (Schanzenviertel)

Mexikanischer Taco mit Pulled Pork, Jalapeños, Salat, Koriander und Limette bei La Casita in Hamburg

Blick Bar

Falls dir die typischen Fischbrötchen zu profan sind, oder wenn du einmal neugierig auf eine ganz andere Variante bist, dann empfehle ich dir einen Besuch in der Blick Bar. Nicht nur, dass du hier einen schönen Blick auf die Hamburger City genießen kannst, du kommst so auch ohne Wartezeit auf die Aussichtsplattform der Elbphilharmonie – denn die Blick Bar ist eigentlich die Hausbar des The Westin Hamburg, dessen Zimmer sich über dem Konzerthaus befinden.

Fischbrioche als Fischbrötchen in der Blick Bar in Hamburg

Probiere unbedingt das Signature Duo aus einem Glas Champagner und einem Fischbrioche und gönne dir einfach eine Auszeit vom Sightseeing. Und keine Sorge, in der Blick Bar geht es trotz allem Luxus herrlich unprätentiös und entspannt zu!

Elphi Spritz in der Blick Bar in Hamburg
Auch zu empfehlen: Der Signature Drink Elphi Spritz

Blick Bar, Platz d. Deutschen Einheit 2, 20457 Hamburg (Innenstadt)

Wenn du Lust auf eine ziemlich außergewöhnliche Unterkunft hast: Buche hier deinen Aufenthalt im The Westin Hamburg*

Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg

Vielen Dank an Hamburg Tourismus und The Westin Hamburg bei der Unterstützung zur Recherche für diesen Artikel!

Gefällt dir dieser Blog? Hast du Inspirationen & Infos für deine nächste Reise gefunden?
Dann unterstütze mich mit einem Kauf bzw. Buchung über einen der mit einem Sternchen (*) markierten Links. Ich erhalte so eine kleine Provision, der Preis für dich bleibt gleich. Vielen Dank für deinen Support!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert