golden-buddha-wat-traimit-bangkok-6

Bangkok: The Golden Buddha in Wat Traimit

A Golden Buddha in the middle of Bangkok, the city of the most beautiful temples. Even those who are not particularly interested in religion should not miss the biggest highlights like Wat Pra Kaew or Wat Pho. The Golden Buddha in Bangkok is located in the temple Wat Traimit and can be optimally combined with a visit to the nearby Chinatown – and a few steep steps even provide a small fitness factor (for those who haven’t traipsed around enough while sightseeing). You have to go up the steps to Wat Traimit, and inside actually waits a golden Buddha made of pure gold!

The Golden Buddha in Bangkok: made entirely of gold!

Facts about the Golden Buddha at Wat Traimit in Bangkok

By the way, the Buddha is not only called “Golden Buddha”, but it is actually almost completely made of gold! Weighing over 5 tons and worth about 250 million dollars, he just stands there, completely open, without any security measures in the small temple on top of the whole temple building. Fascinating. And my impression is confirmed again that 1. Thais have an incredible amount of respect for their religion and 2. stealing is absolutely frowned upon and people feel much safer in this respect than in many other countries.

You can find more inspiration for your Thailand trip in my
Thailand Blog!

A Golden Buddha in Bangkok: Important rules for visiting the temple

As in all of them, if you want to see the Golden Buddha up close, you have to remember to take off your shoes and cover your shoulders and knees. After all, temples are religious sites that want to be respected. Even though the weather in Thailand often calls for lighter clothing, when visiting temples you should avoid short shorts and tank tops if possible. In Wat Traimit, as in most temples popular with tourists, there is also a small clothing store of scarves and shawls, which you can help yourself to for a small donation. The stand is right at the top of the temple.

Chinatown in Bangkok

From Wat Traimit, by the way, you also have a great view of the gateway to Bangkok’s Chinatown, an exciting part of town that you should look at right away in conjunction with the Golden Buddha.

If a Golden Buddha isn’t enough, maybe a private temple tour of Bangkok is for you! There you will not only visit the temples, but also get a lot of background information:

Here you can book a tour of Bangkok’s most beautiful temples!*

You can also find more posts about Thailand here:

*affiliate link.
If you order or book through this link, I’ll receive a small commission. This way, you’ll support this blog & my work. Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Who is
The Happy Jetlagger?

Hey! That’s me, Tatiana. Traveling around the world has been my dream since I was a child. When I was 21, I became a flight attendant for a German airline.
In 2015 I founded The Happy Jetlagger and since then I’ve also been a blogger, photographer and travel influencer. Here on my travel blog, The Happy Jetlagger, I share tips and inspiration for the modern traveler.

Travel hacks
My favourites
Read also

You may also like the following articles:

Send this to a friend

golden-buddha-wat-traimit-bangkok-6

Bangkok: Der Goldene Buddha im Wat Traimit

Ein Goldener Buddha mitten in Bangkok, der Stadt der schönsten Tempel. Auch wer religionsmäßig nicht besonders interessiert ist, sollte sich die größten Highlights wie den Wat Pra Kaew oder den Wat Pho nicht entgehen lassen. Der Golden Buddha in Bangkok befindet sich im Tempel Wat Traimit und lässt sich optimal mit einem Besuch im nahegelegenen Chinatown verbinden – und ein paar steile Stufen sorgen sogar für einen kleinen Fitnessfaktor (wer noch nicht genug beim Sightseeing rumgelatscht ist). Sportlich geht es also die Stufen zum Wat Traimit hinauf, und innen wartet tatsächlich ein goldener Buddha, pures Gold, schimmernd und glänzend.

Der Golden Buddha in Bangkok: Komplett aus Gold!

Fakten zum Golden Buddha im Wat Traimit in Bangkok

Der Buddha heißt übrigens nicht nur „Goldener Buddha“, sondern er ist tatsächlich fast komplett aus Gold! Über 5 Tonnen schwer und ca. 250 Millionen Dollar wert steht er einfach so da, ganz offen, ohne Sicherheitsvorkehrungen im kleinen Tempel auf der Spitze des ganzen Tempelbaus. Faszinierend. Und der Eindruck bestätigt sich wieder, dass 1. Thais unheimlich viel Respekt vor ihrer Religion haben und 2. Klauen absolut verpönt ist und man sich in dieser Hinsicht viel sicherer fühlt als in so manch anderem Land.

Mehr Inspiration für deine Thailand-Reise findest du in meinem
Thailand Blog!

Ein Goldener Buddha in Bangkok: Wichtige Regeln für den Besuch im Tempel

Wie in allen muss man auch im Wat Traimit dran denken, wenn man den Golden Buddha aus der Nähe sehen will: Schuhe aus und Schultern sowie Knien bedecken. Schliesslich sind Tempel religiöse Stätten, die respektiert werden möchten. Auch wenn das Wetter in Thailand oft nach leichterer Kleidung verlangt, bei einem Tempelbesuch sollte man möglichst auf kurze Shorts und Tanktops verzichtet. Im Wat Traimit gibt es aber auch wie in den meisten touristisch gefragten Tempeln einen kleinen Klamottenfundus aus Schals und Tüchern, in dem man sich nach Bedarf gegen eine kleine Spende bedienen darf. Der Stand ist direkt oben am Tempel.

Chinatown in Bangkok

Vom Wat Traimit hat man übrigens auch eine tolle Aussicht auf den Toreingang zu Bangkoks Chinatown, ein spannender Stadtteil, den man gleich in Verbindung mit dem Goldenen Buddha anschauen sollte.

Falls ein Goldener Buddha nicht reicht, ist vielleicht eine private Tempeltour durch Bangkok etwas für Dich! Dort besuchst Du nicht die Tempel, sondern bekommst auch jede Menge Hintergrundinfos:

Hier kannst du eine Tour durch Bangkoks schönste Tempel buchen!*

Mehr Posts zu Thailand findet ihr auch hier: 

Mit einem Stern (*) gekennzeichnete Links sind Affiliatelinks.
Bestellst oder buchst du darüber, erhalte ich eine kleine Provision. Damit unterstützt du diesen Blog & meine Arbeit daran. Vielen Dank!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Wer steckt hinter
The Happy Jetlagger?

Hey! Ich bin Tatiana. Um die Welt zu reisen, war schon als Kind mein Traum. Mit 21 bin ich dann Flugbegleiterin bei einer deutschen Airline geworden.
2015 habe ich The Happy Jetlagger gegründet und bin seitdem auch als Bloggerin, Fotografin und Reiseinfluencerin unterwegs. Hier auf meinem Reiseblog The Happy Jetlagger teile ich Tipps, die vielleicht auch anderswo zu finden sind, aber nirgends so unterhaltsam.

Linktipps
Lieblingsziele
Mehr Artikel
Send this to a friend