Sehenswürdigkeiten in Cambrils Boot im Hafen

Cambrils: How to spend a lovely vacation at the Costa Dorada

Cambrils is located on the Costa Dorada (Catalan: Costa Daurada) in the autonomous region of Catalonia in northeastern Spain and, like many of the small coastal towns there, is very popular with vacationers. In summer, flat beaches and vacation feeling attract a lot of visitors, but also in the off-season Cambrils has its charm!

Tip: Book your hotel in Cambrils now!*

The port of Cambrils

The center of the town is the small fishing port of Cambrils. Fishing boats leave here around the clock and ensure that there is always fresh fish in restaurants and local kitchens in the area. While the trawlers set out with their trawl nets in the morning, the light fishermen set out in the evening.

Boats in the port of Cambrils
Fishing nets

Every day around 5 p.m. the trawlers enter the harbor again with their catch, which is a spectacle not only for the hungry seagulls around. If you are looking for really fresh fish, this is the place to be!

Fishing boats in the port of Cambrils

In general, the small port of Cambrils is very idyllic and a visit can always be combined with a walk along the promenade. The harbor itself hasn’t been around that long: on the information boards around it, you can see on black and white photos how the fishermen used to get into their boats right on the beach here and set off!

Looking for inspiration for your next trip south?
Click here for all articles about Catalonia and Spain!

Two metal fish, part of the sculpture "El Pla de les Serenes" in Cambrils.
The statue "El Pla de les Serenes" on the promenade of Cambrils shows two mermaids.
The sculpture “El Pla de les Serenes” on the promenade shows two mermaids.

Torre del Puerto

The Torre del Puerto is an old watchtower right on the Passeig Miramar, the promenade of Cambrils. Built in the 17th century to defend the city against pirates, it now houses part of the Museo de Historia de Cambrils. The former watchtower is now used for events or temporary exhibitions on the history of Cambrils.

Around the Torre del Puerto you will also find many restaurants where you can sit comfortably outside and enjoy the flair of the fishing village.

Torre del Puerto, a landmark in Cambrils on the promenade

Eating and drinking in Cambrils

El Pòsit

A little off the promenade you will find one of the most traditional restaurants in Cambrils. Originally located at the port of Cambrils for over 30 years, making it a popular spot for fishermen, El Pòsit moved to Plaça de Mossèn Joan Batalla near the pedestrian zone in 2004.

Here you can get traditional dishes with fish and seafood in the best quality and at a good price.

Open for lunch Monday through Friday; dinner only on Fridays and Saturdays.

Rincón de Diego

Things are more upscale at Rincón de Diego, but I wouldn’t have expected anything else in a Michelin-starred restaurant. Nevertheless, the gastronomic 6-course menu more than exceeded my expectations. And when the press text says “chef Diego Campos conjures up exquisite dishes with Basque and Mediterranean influences and displays extraordinary creativity” then that is an understatement: The presentation alone became more and more fascinating with each course.

Table set with wine glasses and place plates at Rincon de Diego restaurant in Cambrils
Star cuisine at Rincón de Diego in Cambrils

The 6-course menu costs 60 euros, with wine, water and coffee 80 euros. Absolutely recommended if you want to enjoy star cuisine for once!

Reservations & current menu at Rincón de Diego

Marshmallows put on golden forks and spoons and red chocolate in the shape of lips for dessert

Events and festivals in Cambrils

Cambrils goes to great lengths to ensure that visitors are not bored: Throughout the year there are various festivals and events in the town. Like everywhere in Southern Europe, people like to eat well here, so there are also many culinary events. Especially popular are the “Jornades Gastronòmiques de la Galera i la Cuina Marinera“. Then, every February, everything in Cambrils revolves around the Galera, a type of lobster, and its importance for the place.

But wine lovers don’t miss out either: in October, the Cambrils Wine Festival takes place in the Parc del Pescador.

Cambrils wine festival in the evening
Wine festival in the Parc del Pescador

Apart from the fact that the location in the middle of the park is super lush, I found the whole implementation of the event so nice: at one of the stalls at the entrance you buy your “Glups” and “Nyams” which are used as a drink or food voucher, and those who have forgotten their own glass (everyone has to bring their own, a nice idea!) can also get a small shoulder bag with a wine glass in it for a deposit. So pretty! Later in the evening, there’s also live music.

More info about the wine festival “Cambrils: Entrada al pais del vi”.

Several bottles of wine at stand at wine festival in Cambrils
In Catalonia you can find numerous wine regions

Stay overnight in Cambrils

In and around Cambrils there are many places to stay. Often you can find big vacation hotels here, which I personally don’t find very appealing in the high season no matter in which place. In the low season, however, you can consistently make good bargains here, even rooms in hotels of the higher category then cost considerably less than in plain summer. At the same time, you can then enjoy the comfort of a larger facility with a pool and huge breakfast buffet – that’s also quite pleasant for a change. For example, I stayed at Sol Port Cambrils – central, well kept and very solid.

Check here rates & availability for the Hotel Sol Port Cambrils*.

Here’s a hotel tip given to me by a local: If you’re not at all into bed castles, but still want the vacation feeling of a resort, you should check out the Estival ElDorado Resort. It is located a little outside the city center, but directly on the beach. The resort has many amenities including multiple pools, a large fitness center, numerous restaurants and even a beach bar. Large hotels in high-rise buildings, such as those on the other side of the city in the direction of Salou, are not to be found here. Would keep in mind for the off season!

Check rates & availability for Estival ElDorado Resort* here.

Cambrils beach
Popular: The beaches in and around Cambrils

Helpful tips for a vacation in Cambrils

When is the season in Cambrils?

The vacation season in Cambrils lasts from April to October. July and August are the peak season. But like many places in southern Europe, the climate here is still mild even in October. If you want to escape the autumn in Northern Europe and enjoy a few rays of sunshine by the sea, you are definitely in the right place. By the way, many locations are closed in January, but otherwise there is always some activity in Cambrils even out of season.

How far is Cambrils from Barcelona?

Cambrils is about 120 kilometers from Barcelona. By car or rental car (book here)* the trip takes about an hour and a half. But you have the same travel time with the regional train, which goes from Barcelona along the coast and also stops directly in Cambrils. Or you can take one of the buses from BusPlana(click here for info)!

Fishing boat in Cambrils harbor

Thanks to Catalonia Tourism for the invitation to this trip!

Teile diesen Artikel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cambrils: Urlaub an der Costa Dorada

Cambrils liegt an der Costa Dorada (katalanisch: Costa Daurada) in der autonomen Region Katalonien in Nordostspanien und ist wie viele der kleinen Küstenorte dort bei Urlaubern sehr beliebt. Im Sommer locken hier flach abfallende Strände und Urlaubsfeeling, aber auch in der Nebensaison hat Cambrils seinen Reiz!

Tipp: Günstige Hotels in Cambrils jetzt buchen!*

Der Hafen von Cambrils

Das Zentrum des Ortes bildet der kleine Fischereihafen von Cambrils. Rund um die Uhr brechen hier Fischerboote auf und sorgen dafür, dass es in Restaurants und heimischen Küchen der Umgebung immer frischen Fisch gibt. Während morgens die Trawler mit ihren Schleppnetzen ausrücken, ziehen abends die Lichtfischer los.

Boote im Hafen von Cambrils
Fischernetze

Jeden Tag gegen 17 Uhr laufen die Trawler mit ihrem Fang wieder in den Hafen ein, was nicht nur für die hungrigen Möwen ringsum ein Spektakel ist. Wer wirklich frischen Fisch sucht, ist hier genau richtig!

Fischerboote im Hafen von Cambrils

Überhaupt ist der kleine Hafen von Cambrils sehr idyllisch und ein Besuch lässt sich immer gut mit einem Spaziergang entlang der Promenade verbinden. Den Hafen selbst gibt es noch gar nicht so lang: An den Informationstafeln rundum kannst du auf Schwarzweißfotos sehen, wie die Fischer hier früher direkt am Strand in ihre Boote stiegen und losfuhren!

Suchst du nach Inspirationen für die nächste Reise in den Süden?
Klicke hier für alle Artikel über Katalonien und Spanien!

Zwei Fische aus Metall, Teil der Skulptur "El Pla de les Serenes" in Cambrils.
Die Statue "El Pla de les Serenes" an der Promenade von Cambrils zeigt zwei Meerjungfrauen.
Die Skulptur „El Pla de les Serenes“ an der Promenade zeigt zwei Meerjungfrauen.

Torre del Puerto

Der Torre del Puerto ist ein alter Wachtturm direkt am Passeig Miramar, der Promenade von Cambrils. Im 17. Jahrhundert zur Verteidigung der Stadt gegen Piraten erbaut, beherbergt er heute einen Teil des Museo de Historia de Cambrils. Der ehemalige Wachtturm wird heute für Events oder temporäre Ausstellungen zur Geschichte Cambrils genutzt.

Rund um den Torre del Puerto findest du auch viele Restaurants, wo du gemütlich draußen sitzen und das Flair des Fischerdorfes genießen kannst.

Torre del Puerto, eine Sehenswürdigkeit in Cambrils an der Promenade

Essen und Trinken in Cambrils

El Pòsit

Etwas abseits der Promenade findest du eines der traditionsreichsten Restaurants in Cambrils. Ursprünglich über 30 Jahre am Hafen von Cambrils gelegen und damit ein beliebter Anlaufpunkt für die Fischer zog das El Pòsit 2004 an die Plaça de Mossèn Joan Batalla in der Nähe der Fußgängerzone.

Hier bekommst du traditionelle Gerichte mit Fisch und Meeresfrüchten in bester Qualität und zum guten Preis.

Montags bis Freitag mittags geöffnet; Abendessen nur freitags und samstags.

Rincón de Diego

Gehobener geht es im Rincón de Diego zu, aber anders hätte ich es in einem Sternerestaurant nicht erwartet. Trotzdem hat das Gastronomische 6-Gänge-Menü meine Erwartungen mehr als übertroffen. Und wenn es im Pressetext heißt „der Küchenchef Diego Campos zaubert exquisite Speisen mit baskischen und mediterranen Einflüssen und zeigt eine außerordentliche Kreativität“ dann ist das untertrieben: Allein die Präsentation wurde mit jedem Gang immer faszinierender.

Mit Weingläsern und Platztellern gedeckter Tisch im Restaurant Rincon de Diego in Cambrils
Sterneküche im Rincón de Diego in Cambrils

Das 6-Gänge-Menü kostet 60 Euro, mit Wein, Wasser und Kaffee 80 Euro. Absolute Empfehlung, wenn du einmal Sterneküche genießen möchtest!

Reservierungen & aktuelles Menü im Rincón de Diego

Auf goldenen Gabeln und Löffeln gesteckte Marshmallows und rote Schokolade in Lippenform als Dessert

Events und Feste in Cambrils

Cambrils gibt sich große Mühe, damit es Besuchern nicht langweilig wird: Das ganze Jahr über finden die verschiedensten Feste und Events im Ort statt. Wie überall in Südeuropa wird auch hier gerne gut gegessen, daher gibt es auch viele kulinarische Veranstaltungen. Besonders beliebt sind die “Jornades Gastronòmiques de la Galera i la Cuina Marinera”. Jeden Februar dreht sich dann alles in Cambrils um die Galera (deutsch: Fangschreckenkrebs), einer Hummerart, und deren Bedeutung für den Ort.

Aber auch Weinliebhaber kommen nicht zu kurz: Im Oktober findet das Weinfest von Cambrils im Parc del Pescador statt.

Weinfest in Cambrils am Abend
Weinfest im Parc del Pescador

Mal davon ab, dass die Location mitten im Park superlauschig ist, fand ich die gesamte Umsetzung des Events so nett: An einer der Buden am Eingang kauft man sich seine “Glups” und “Nyams”, die als Getränke- bzw. Essensbons dienen, und wer sein eigenes Glas vergessen hat (die muss nämlich jeder selbst mitbringen, schöner Umweltgedanke!) bekommt hier auch gegen Pfand ein kleines Umhängetäschchen mit einem Weinglas darin. Wirklich sehr toll gemacht. Zum späteren Abend gibt es auch Live-Musik!

Mehr Infos zum Weinfest „Cambrils: Entrada al pais del vi“

Mehrere Weinflaschen an Stand auf dem Weinfest in Cambrils
In Katalonien findet man zahlreiche Weinregionen

Übernachten in Cambrils

In und um Cambrils gibt es viele Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten. Oft finden sich hier große Urlaubshotels, was ich persönlich in der Hauptsaison egal an welchem Ort nicht sehr ansprechend finde. In der Nebensaison kann man allerdings hier durchweg gute Schnäppchen machen, sogar Zimmer in Hotels der gehobeneren Kategorie kosten dann erheblich weniger als im Hochsommer. Gleichzeitig kann man dann den Komfort einer größeren Anlage mit Pool und riesigem Frühstücksbuffet genießen – das ist auch mal ganz angenehm. Ich habe zum Beispiel im Sol Port Cambrils übernachtet – zentral, gepflegt und sehr solide.

Checke hier Preise & Verfügbarkeit für das Hotel Sol Port Cambrils*

Hier ein Hoteltipp, den mir eine Einheimische vor Ort gegeben hat: Wenn du gar nicht so auf Bettenburgen stehst, aber trotzdem das Urlaubsfeeling eines Resorts suchst, solltest du dir das Estival ElDorado Resort anschauen. Es liegt etwas außerhalb des Stadtkerns, dafür aber direkt am Strand. Die Anlage verfügt über viele Annehmlichkeiten wie z.B. mehreren Pools, einem großen Fitnesscenter, zahlreichen Restaurants und sogar einer Strandbar. Große Hotels in Hochhäusern wie z.B. auf der anderen Seite der Stadt in Richtung Salou sucht man hier aber vergebens. Würde ich mir für die Nebensaison merken!

Checke hier Preise & Verfügbarkeit für das Estival ElDorado Resort*

Strand in Cambrils
Beliebt: Die Strände in und um Cambrils

Hilfreiche Tipps für einen Urlaub in Cambrils

Wann ist Saison in Cambrils?

Die Urlaubssaison in Cambrils dauert von April bis Oktober. Juli und August sind dabei die Hochsaison. Aber wie in vielen Orten in Südeuropa ist hier selbst im Oktober das Klima noch mild. Wenn du dem Herbst in Deutschland entfliehen möchtest und ein paar Sonnenstrahlen am Meer genießen möchtest, bist du definitiv richtig. Im Januar sind viele Locations übrigens geschlossen, ansonsten ist aber auch außerhalb der Saison immer etwas Betrieb in Cambrils.

Wie weit ist Cambrils von Barcelona entfernt?

Cambrils ist ca. 120 Kilometer von Barcelona entfernt. Mit dem Auto oder Mietwagen (kannst du hier buchen*) dauert die Fahrt ca. anderthalb Stunden. Die gleiche Fahrzeit hast du aber auch mit dem Regionalzug, der von Barcelona aus die Küste entlang fährt und auch direkt in Cambrils hält. Oder du nimmst einen der Busse von BusPlana (klicke hier für Info)!

Fischerboot im Hafen von Cambrils

Vielen Dank an Katalonien Tourismus für die Einladung zu dieser Recherchereise!

Mit einem Stern (*) gekennzeichnete Links sind Affiliatelinks.
Bestellst oder buchst du darüber, erhalte ich eine kleine Provision. Damit unterstützt du diesen Blog & meine Arbeit daran. Vielen Dank!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Wer bloggt hier?

Hey! Ich bin Tatiana. Um die Welt zu reisen, war schon als Kind mein Traum. Mit 21 bin ich dann Flugbegleiterin bei einer deutschen Airline geworden.
2015 habe ich The Happy Jetlagger gegründet und bin seitdem auch als Bloggerin, Fotografin und Reiseinfluencerin unterwegs. Hier auf meinem Reiseblog The Happy Jetlagger teile ich Tipps, die vielleicht auch anderswo zu finden sind, aber nirgends so unterhaltsam.

Lieblingsziele
Vielleicht interessieren dich auch diese Artikel:
Send this to a friend