Blog

New York: Sunrise at the Brooklyn Bridge

I really don’t know why wearing headphones isn’t allowed on the Brooklyn Bridge in New York City. Probably listening to music is too distracting, because the strip for pedestrian is very narrow and on the bike lane next to it people run so fast with their bikes as if they were training for the next […]
Weiterlesen

Street Art in Miami: Wynwood Walls

The best thing about flight to North America: I finally manage to get up early due to the jetlag. And I even get to see the sunrise for once. With a hotel next to the beach in South Beach: even better. But what isn’t beautiful in Miami? Beautiful people, beautiful beaches, beautiful light – beauty […]
Weiterlesen

Getting close to North Korea – a day trip to the DMZ

North Korea has been on my bucket list for quite some time now, since I watched some interesting documentaries on this surreal country. Going there is not that easy, you have to travel with an approved tour operator and during the whole trip you are being watched by your tour guides. And there’s that feeling to […]
Weiterlesen

Washington DC: What to see around The Mall!

A piece of history, just like that. Sometimes this job takes you to places you never imagined. And sometimes you will find yourself in the most interesting moments of history. When I got to Washington, it was shortly after the new American president was elected – and two days before Christmas Eve. The city was […]
Weiterlesen

Merry Christmas, New York!

Is there any chance not to be flashed by New York? Especially during Chrismas Time? This hug city full of people, full of building, full of history. Every street corner tells a different story and looks familiar, probably because you might have seen it in one of those countless movies or television series playing in […]
Weiterlesen

Winter in Montreal

I just imagined Montreal and Canada in December really differently. It was my first time in Montreal, let alone Canada, and I expected snow. A lot of snow. Huge masses of snow. Instead I arrived during some unusual warm days in December and the last snow has just melt. No Canadian winter wonderland for me. […]
Weiterlesen

Is it safe to travel to Tehran? Meet the locals.

…translation in progress..! Gastfreundschaft ist ja etwas, mit dem man sich als Flugbegleiter auskennen sollte. Besonders nach 16 Jahren Berufserfahrung. Nachdem ich aber in Teheran war, und das durch einige Zufälle auch noch länger als geplant, weiß ich: Es gibt noch viel zu lernen. Vom Iran hatte sich ein diffuses Bild in meinem Kopf festgesetzt: […]
Weiterlesen

Blog

Ausflug auf Mallorca: Mit dem Boot nach Cabrera

Nicht einfach, im August auf Mallorca ein stilles Plätzchen zu finden. Alles platzt aus den Nähten, Mallorca ist beliebter denn je. Bei Deutschen, bei Engländern, bei Spaniern, bei einfach allen. Und mitten im August erreicht die Urlaubssaison jedes Jahr ihren Höhepunkt. Da kann man sich manchmal schon nach Ruhe sehnen – aber die Hoffnung hatte […]
Read More

Hoteltipp: The Memory at On On Hotel, Phuket City, Thailand

Ich bin ja kein großer Fan von Hotelketten. Sicher, die Annehmlichkeiten sind meist ganz nett – aber irgendwie erinnert mich das zu sehr an Arbeit, weil wir mit der Crew grundsätzlich in größeren Hotels übernachten. Und wenn ich frei habe, dann suche ich eher ungewöhnlichere Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten, zum Beispiel so wie das The Memory at On […]
Read More

Meine Fotoausrüstung für Reisen

Die Wahl des richtigen Fotoequipment auf Reisen ist gar nicht so einfach: Leicht muss es sein, dafür aber alles können und unkaputtbar sein. Und am besten günstig, damit der Schmerz nicht so groß ist, falls unterwegs mal was abhanden kommt. Ich schleppe mich meist immer noch mit einer schweren digitalen Spiegelreflexkamera ab, die Fotos lassen […]
Read More

New York: Sonnenaufgang auf der Brooklyn Bridge

Warum man auf der Brooklyn Bridge in New York keine Kopfhörer tragen darf, weiß ich auch nicht. Musik auf den Ohren lenkt wahrscheinlich zu sehr ab – der Fußgängerweg ist zu schmal für die ganzen Besucher- und Joggermassen, die täglich nach Sonnenaufgang die Brooklyn Bridge bevölkern. Und auf der Radwegseite schiessen Radfahrer nur so hin […]
Read More